excitement To make it easier to manage the follower list, it is testing a new feature that allows users to remove followers without unfollowing them.
Currently, if a user blocks someone on Twitter, it will prevent that person from viewing their profile and sending a direct message to them, revealing the person they have been blocked.
Blocking an account automatically causes the user to unfollow and unfollow you.
However, if that user visits the profile of an account that has blocked them, they can see that it has been blocked.
Until now, to “softly block” someone – to allow someone to unfollow them without their knowledge – users would manually block and unblock them.
Even while doing this, they can visit a profile that “soft-blocks” them and find out that they are not being followed.
They can even re-follow and continue to see tweets on the user’s timeline.
In the new feature tested by the microblogging platform, users can unblock a follower without blocking it.
“To remove a follower, go to your profile and click ‘Followers’, then click the three-dot icon and select ‘Remove this follower,'” Twitter said in a statement on Twitter.
This makes it easier for users to block someone without their knowledge with fewer steps.
The new feature comes after the launch announcement last week. new “Safety Mode” It aimed to protect people from viewing abusive posts on Twitter.
According to Twitter, this feature automatically blocks accounts that use potentially harmful language, such as insults or hateful words, or that interact with tweets in repetitive or intrusive ways.
Both features are expected to be available to a small number of people on the platform and may be rolled out to more users as Twitter learns about the user experience of the features.